Red Curry Chicken with Butternut Squash

Crockpot Red Curry Chicken with Butternut Squash

Yes, this is my picture!  You, too, can make your rice into hearts!  Try a Japanese grocer for all kinds of rice-shaping and other bento tools...

Yes, this is my picture. You, too, can make your rice into hearts! Try a Japanese grocer for all kinds of rice-shaping and other bento tools..

This is one of those fantastically rich slow-cooked meals that would be great for a cold winter day.  Even here where it is always warm, I enjoy the winter vegetables and rich curry.  I have made this dish on multiple occasions, and for company, and it always turns out delicious.  I have substituted chickpeas and tofu for the chicken, as well as throwing in other veggies.  I like keeping them all in the red-orange color family, though, as it looks nice on the plate with a bit of cilantro and lime garnish.

Adapted from Williams Sonoma and Cara’s Cravings

1-2 red bell peppers, diced
1 large diced onion (100gm)
1-2 medium carrots, chopped
1lb butternut squash, peeled and chopped (or substitute another winter squash)
2 boneless skinless chicken breasts, about 5oz each (or substitute tofu or chickpeas!  Or both!)
1/2-1 tsp each cinnamon, ginger, and cumin (I actually add quite a bit more– I like a lot of seasonings)
salt & pepper
2 tsp red curry paste (or more!  but it will definitely heat up the dish)
2 cloves of garlic
1 tbsp fish sauce (didn’t have it, didn’t miss it)
juice from 1/2 lime (or more!)
1 cup coconut milk
1 cup chicken broth (or vegetable broth)
1 tbsp flour or cornstarch (I ended up having to add quite a bit more to get the sauce to thicken)
fresh basil or cilantro, for garnish


  • Place the onions, peppers, and squash in the bottom of the crockpot.
  • Cut the chicken into small pieces and toss with the cinnamon, ginger, cumin, salt and pepper. As I said, I did not measure, but I am pretty liberal with my seasonings. I would say, use a little less cinnamon than ginger and cumin. Heat a nonstick skillet over medium heat, and saute the chicken for a few minutes on each side, until browned.
  • Place the chicken in the crockpot. Combine the curry paste, garlic, fish sauce, lime juice, coconut milk, extract, and broth in a blender and process until smooth. Pour over the chicken and vegetables.
  • Cover and cook on low for 6 hours. Stir flour into 2 tbsp of water until no lumps remain and gently stir into the liquid in the crockpot. (I actually prefer to thicken with cornstarch, but I was all out.) Increase heat to high and cook for another 20 minutes to thicken. Garnish with basil or cilantro.

2 thoughts on “Red Curry Chicken with Butternut Squash

    • Thanks, Cara! Yeah, I went on a bit of a Bento craze last year and made a lot of “cute food.” Thank you so much for this great recipe– It is one of my crockpot standards now! You should try the easy mango ice cream recipe I just posted, too- It’s a great finish for the curry. Take care!

Leave a Reply

